Lebanon’s Arcade is only one of three known in the state.Arcades were the “malls” of the early twentieth century. Constructed in 1909, the Arcade was planned to stretch between the Square and Gay Street with at least five stores fronting west on an arcade extending north and south from the corner of the square.
Doctor’s offices, retail stores and civic clubs used the space. The building had an original skylight roof that was destroyed by a strong straight- line wind. This was replaced by smaller skylights which are still in use today.