WILSON COUNTY HISTORY MUSEUM /FITE-FESSENDEN HOUSE-236 WEST MAIN STREET
The Wilson County Museum is housed in the two-story Federal -style brick house built about 1870 by Dr. James Leonidas Fite who began practicing medicine in Lebanon before the Civil War.
In 1862, he was appointed surgeon of the 7th Tennessee Infantry Regiment in Virginia under the command of General Robert Hatton. In 1891 Dr. Fite’s daughter, Margaret Harsh, opened an elementary school in her parents’ home. Mrs. Virginia Wooten continued a school in the house from 1917 to 1920. In 1928, Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Fessenden acquired the property for their home. Their daughter, Sallie Barry Fessenden, who died March 6, 1983, directed in her will that the house be used as a museum.
It is operated by the History Associates of Wilson County to preserve and educate about Wilson County’s heritage.
To schedule a tour, please call 615-444-9127
. This site was placed on the National Register of Historic Sites in 1985.