Lebanon’s Federal Post Office building’s cornerstone was laid October 30, 1913. Completed eighteen months later in April, 1915, the new post office signified Lebanon’s growing population and business community.
By 1908, the town’s receipts had grown enough to qualify for the free delivery of mail. Sidewalks were placed and houses numbered in anticipation of mail delivery. With the assistance of Senator Cordell Hull, funding in the amount of $50,000 was appropriated for the construction by Congress. Oscar Wenderoth, Chief Federal Architect, was in charge of the building’s design.
The interior was furnished with classical motifs and materials including pink and gray East Tennessee marble for the floors and wainscoting. The Post Office would operate in this building until 1963 when new, modern quarters were built on East Gay Street.
Lebanon’s Federal Post Office building was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1998. The Wilson County Election Commission now occupies the building and is proud to be a part of the its adaptive re-use.