This two-story Greek Revival style farmhouse was built between 1841- 1843 by Benjamin Washington Grenade Winford (1814-1879) fronting the Nashville-Lebanon Turnpike on his farm of over two hundred acres.
Winford married Harriet Henry Harris (1820-1900) in 1841 and they had twelve children, four boys and eight girls. Family lore tells that the boys’ sleeping quarters were located in one the original log outbuildings while the girls slept inside the house. The house stayed in the Winford family until 1906 when purchased by Dr. John Owen Campbell (1856-1941).
Campbell was the son of Governor William Bowen Campbell and Frances Owen. He married Susie Towson and they had two daughters, Martha and Margaret. In 1975, the Campbell sisters sold the house and surrounding two hundred acres to a local developer. The house and one and one half acre were purchased and the rest developed into residential lots.
The structure’s two-story central portico and simple style is representative of the quintessential, antebellum Middle Tennessee farm house. Its interior retains the five original mantels, woodwork, and flooring. The site was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1980.