The Warner Price Mumford Smith House - 10277 Lebanon Road, Mt Juliet, 37122
The Warner Price Mumford Smith House is a fine example of Greek Revival influenced architecture so common in antebellum Middle Tennessee. Purchased by Smith in 1853, the home has retained its overall integrity of style, materials, and workmanship.
Warner Price Mumford Smith was born in 1822 in Virginia. His parents, John and Sophia Price Smith came to Middle Tennessee in 1826 and purchased 500 acres of land south of the Cumberland River in Wilson County. This family land was located on the south side of the Nashville-Lebanon Turnpike, present day Lebanon Road. The Smith family owned and operated a general mercantile store along the Turnpike. When Smith married Augusta Amelia Houser in 1847, they lived in the rear of the family-run store. In July 1853, the property across the road from the store became available. Smith purchased one and three-fourth acres along with a two-story log house on the property. He immediately began improvements to what would become his family home. He added the Greek Revival two-story portico, enclosed the central hallway or “dog-trot” on both levels and built a one-story ell to the rear of the house. Although modernization has occurred over the years, the home still retains many of its original windows, mantels, yellow-poplar floors and woodwork. The porches have cedar plank ceilings and posts. The Smiths were important early businesses owners in the Silver Springs area of Wilson County. W.P.M. Smith eventually purchased the family store and continued its operation as well as adding a grist mill, saw mill, and ice house. The mills were some of the first ones run by steam in the area. In the years before the Civil War, Smith ran a stagecoach stop, The Half-Way House at the store.
The land on which the Warner Price Mumford Smith house is located was part of an original 1790 North Carolina land grant to Private Charles Webb. It is not known if Webb or the next owner, John Bell Vivrett built the original log house. Smith purchased the one and three fourth acres and house from Vivrett in July 1853 and it has remained in his family through descendants ever since. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1993.