Chandler Stone Wall- 2260 Old Lebanon Dirt Road, Mt Juliet, 37122
The Chandler Stone Wall and Dam was completed in 1904-1906 by John Chandler (1868-1958). It was patterned after Scotch-Irish designs and used to control water from Lick Branch Creek and several underground springs and for soil conservation/ land reclamation for farming. Chandler was a farmer, stone mason and blacksmith.
He quarried the stone from nearby land and hauled it to the building site on a horse-drawn sled. The stones were put in place from the bedrock up with a tripod pulley system. The wall and dam are constructed in a dry stack method without mortar. The whole system consists of a reservoir, dam, retaining wall and underground drains.
The wall is 985 feet in length on the south side of Old Lebanon Dirt Road and ranges from eight to twenty feet high. On the west end is the attached dam that stretches across the creek. The supports for the dam are iron and were fashioned by Chandler. The Stone Wall and Dam were placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2001 and are unique for their engineering and conservation purpose.
For more information contact Larry and Linda Kent, 615-754-9203