The Hale House/Patterson Hotel was an important part of the development of Watertown. The home was built for Ed Hale in 1898 as a simple, frame, central hall house with Victorian Queen-Anne style elements. It was updated with Classical Revival features in 1912 when purchased by Rufe Patterson for use as a railroad hotel. The changes included extending the length of the house by four feet and covering the original weatherboard with a red brick veneer. Patterson also added a wraparound porch with square columns. An interesting feature of the interior is the staircase with carved newel post and balustrades that dates to the updates of 1912. The Patterson Hotel operated from 1912 to 1937. During this time it served not only traveling salesmen (drummers) but also as living quarters and office for the town doctor. Others who sought living arrangements here were bachelors or unmarried women and workers from the area’s local industries. The dining room was a gathering place for breakfast and dinner during this time. After use as a hotel, the structure served as a boarding house from 1939-1985. Presently it functions as the Watertown Bed and Breakfast and was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1997.