Premiering December 9, 1949, under the management of local businessman John Hatcher, Sr., the Capitol Theatre was the last great movie house in Lebanon. The auditorium could seat one thousand patrons and featured a balcony and “crying room” for fussy infants.
Vacant and neglected for many years, the building was purchased in 2009 by Bob and Pam Black who worked several years to restore the building to its former grandeur. The restored marquee was once again lighting the night by the summer of 2013.
Great care was taken to preserve many of the original features of the lobby while updating the auditorium with excellent acoustics for concerts and digital movies. The movie poster displays in the lobby and at the main entrance are original to the theatre.
In 2014, the Capitol Theatre restoration project received a Certificate of Merit from the Tennessee Historic Commission for Historic Preservation.